STEM Passport

The Great Lakes Bay Region (GLBR) is home to a variety of science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) destinations and programs.  Below list some that you can explore. Visit 5 or more of these destinations and you’ll receive a prize on behalf of the GLBR STEM Initiative & MiSTEM Network.

ELECTRONIC PASSPORT FLIER LINK

RULES:

Step 1. Go here to register and record your five (5) experiences before June 30, 2021: https://forms.gle/svUm23F5ezed5rP49

Step 2. As you visit or participate in five (5) STEM programs, take photos of your child participating in STEM activities. Please send the pictures to stem@greatlakesbay.org.

START EXPLORING TODAY at these DESTINATIONS:

Bay/ Arenac

Arenac Community Center – Arenac – arenaccommunitycenter.org
Arenac/Iosco District Library – Arenac – ioscoarenaclibrary.org
Bay County Library System – Bay City – www.baycountylibrary.org
Delta College Planetarium – Bay City – www.delta.edu/planetarium
The Historical Museum of Bay County – Bay City – www.bchsmuseum.org

Clare/ Gladwin

Beaverton Activity Center – Gladwin – www.beavertonactivitycenter.com
Clare-Gladwin RESD – Clare – www.cgresd.net/domain/51

Gratiot/ Isabella

Center for Excellence in STEM Ed – Mt. Pleasant – www.cmich.edu
Chippewa River District Library – Mt. Pleasant – https://youseemore.com/chippewa/
Forest Hill Nature Area – Alma – www.giresd.net
Mt. Pleasant Discovery Museum – Mt. Pleasant – www.mpdiscoverymuseum.org

Midland

Chippewa Nature Center – Midland – www.chippewanaturecenter.org
Midland Center for the Arts – Midland – www.midlandcenter.org

Saginaw

Castle Museum – Saginaw – www.castlemuseum.org/
Marshall M. Fredericks Sculpture Museum – Saginaw – https://www.marshallfredericks.net/steam.html
Mid-Michigan Children’s Museum – Saginaw – www.michildrensmuseum.org
Public Libraries of Saginaw County – Saginaw – https://www.saginawlibrary.org
Saginaw Children’s Zoo – Saginaw – www.saginawzoo.com
STEM@SVSU – Saginaw – www.svsu.edu/stem/
YMCA Camp Timbers – Saginaw /West Branch – saginawymca.org/camp-timbers/

More STEM Resources

Bedtime Math – bedtimemath.org/
Girl Scouts Heart of Michigan – www.gshom.org/en/events/event-calendar.html
Math in the Mail – www.mathinthemail.org
Mathnasium of Saginaw – www.facebook.com/mathnasiumofsaginaw/
Midland Section of the American Chemical Society – www.midlandacs.org
MSU Extension 4-H
www.canr.msu.edu/resources/teaching_science_when_you_dont_know_diddly_squat_series
hwww.canr.msu.edu/outreach/county
MSU Extension-Midland County 4-H – Contact: howedolo@msu.edu
MSU St. Andrews STEAM Center – standrews.msu.edu/
Snapology – www.snapology.com/location/tricitymi

Library Systems & STEM

Michigan Public Libraries by County – www.everylibrary.com/MI-County.html
Michigan Library Directory – librarytechnology.org/libraries/public.pl?State=Michigan

Environmental Education & STEM

Bay City State Recreation Park – www.michigan.gov/baycity
Bay Sail Schooner Appledore – www.baysailbaycity.org
Chippewa Nature Center – www.chippewanaturecenter.org/
Chippewa Watershed Conservatory – www.chippewawatershedconservancy.org/
Dow Gardens – dowgardens.org/
EAA Chapter 1093: Home to Midland Young Eagles – www.facebook.com/EAAChapter1093
Hartley Outdoor Education Center – www.sisd.cc/District/Department/19-Hartley-OutdoorEducation-Center
Little Forks Nature Conservancy – www.littleforks.org/
MiPINES Outdoor Education – www.tinyurl.com/MIPINESmap
Museum of Cultural and Natural History – www.cmich.edu/colleges/class/MCNH/Pages/default.aspx
Saginaw Bay Land Conservancy – www.sblc-mi.org/
Saginaw Conservation District – www.facebook.com/saginawcd/
Shiawassee National Wildlife Refuge – www.fws.gov/refuge/shiawassee/

Other Family Resources

Bay-Arenac Counties GSC – www.bayarenacgreatstart.org
Boys & Girls Clubs of the Great Lakes Bay Region – www.boysandgirlsclubsglbr.com/
Children’s Grief Center of the Great Lakes Bay Region – www.facebook.com/childrensgriefcenter
Clare and Gladwin Counties GSC – www.claregladwingreatstart.com
Clare-Gladwin RESD SPARKS – www.cgresd.net/domain/51
Gratiot-Isabella Counties GSC – www.giresd.net/domain/36
Greater Midland Community Center – www.greatermidland.org/
Great Start to Quality – www.greatstarttoquality.org
Midland County GSC – www.greatstartmidland.org
Saginaw County GSC – www.greatstartsaginaw.org/
THRIVE Great Lakes Bay – thrivegreatlakesbay.org/
The ROCK Center for Youth Development – www.therockc4yd.org/

Follow STEM Pipeline on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram.